Elavon Payment Processing: Rates, Reviews, and How It Compares
A bank-owned processor that actually publishes its rates β and a review record split almost down the middle. Here's what the sources say, with dates on every claim.
What is Elavon? The 30-second answer
Elavon is a merchant services and payment processing company and a wholly owned subsidiary of U.S. Bank. It processes in-person, online, mobile, and mail/telephone-order payments, and by its own account handles more than nine billion transactions valued over $600 billion per year worldwide β Elavon calls itself one of the top five global payment providers. (Those scale figures are Elavon's self-reported numbers.)
Its published small-business rates, as of September 3, 2026:2.60% + 12Β’ per qualified in-person transaction and 3.30% + 30Β’ per qualified online transaction. What a non-qualified transaction costs is not published β more on that below.
Reviews are sharply polarized: 3.9/5 on Trustpilot with 56% five-star and 42% one-star reviews, and an A+ BBB letter grade sitting alongside 1/5 customer stars there (as of September 2026). The full review picture is below.
What Elavon Is Genuinely Good At
We compete with Elavon, so take the criticism later on this page with that in mind β but a fair review starts with what they do well, and there's a real list. Elavon also cites a Forbes "Best of 2024" nod as one of the ten best credit card processing companies.
Bank backing
Elavon is a wholly owned subsidiary of U.S. Bank β which Elavon describes as the fifth largest commercial bank in the U.S. That parent relationship is real institutional stability, not marketing garnish, and it matters if you're wary of thinly capitalized resellers.
Published pricing
Elavon posts standard small-business rates on a public pricing page. At this tier of processor, that alone is unusual β most bank-owned and enterprise processors make you talk to sales before you see a single number.
Product breadth
Converge, its hosted gateway, covers in-person, online, mobile, and mail/phone-order payments in one portal. Elavon Point of Sale (formerly talech) is a full POS software suite, and Fusebox is its enterprise gateway β Elavon cites 2023 TSG Real Transaction Metrics selections for fastest transactions and highest authorization rate.
Surcharge program
Elavon offers a compliance-managed surcharge program where the merchant selects a cardholder surcharge between 1% and 3%, in 0.25% intervals β a genuine option if you want to offset card costs on credit transactions.
Vertical depth
The site lists dedicated solutions for restaurants, travel and hospitality, retail, eCommerce, hospitals and health systems, medical practices, public sector, higher education, automotive, and mass transit. Hospitality and healthcare presence at that depth is a real differentiator versus small ISOs.
Support that gets specific praise
Among Elavon's Trustpilot 5-star reviews, support staff are consistently described as patient, knowledgeable, and responsive on technical and terminal issues. When Elavon support works, reviewers say it works well.
Elavon's Published Rates β and What Isn't Published
These are the standard rates on Elavon's own pricing page, re-verified on September 3, 2026. Elavon's published rates have changed before, so treat elavon.com as the source of record for today's numbers.
In-person
2.60% + 12Β’
per qualified swipe or chip transaction
Online
3.30% + 30Β’
per qualified transaction
Also stated on the pricing page
- β$0 annual fee
- β$0 batch fees
- β$0 additional authorization fees
- β$0 cancellation or early termination fees
Interchange-plus pricing is offered as an option, with the page promising "no hidden fees." Publishing any of this puts Elavon ahead of most processors its size β genuine credit for that.
The transparency gap: four things you won't find on that page
Published rates are only half a price. As of September 3, 2026, Elavon's pricing page does not disclose:
What "qualified" means
Both published rates apply to "qualified" transactions, and the pricing page never defines the term. Elavon does not publish what non-qualified transactions cost β and in tiered pricing generally, the gap between qualified and non-qualified rates is where statements get expensive.
Contract length
The pricing page says $0 cancellation or early termination fees, but does not disclose contract terms or length.
Hardware and software costs
Terminal prices, POS software fees, and monthly costs for Converge or Elavon Point of Sale are not on the pricing page.
PCI fees
PCI compliance or non-compliance fees aren't disclosed. One BBB reviewer reported a $248 PCI compliance charge β a single anecdote, not a price sheet, which is exactly the problem with undisclosed fees.
To see how qualified-rate pricing stacks up against flat-rate, tiered, and interchange-plus models across the industry, ourprocessing fees comparison walks through all four with published rates side by side.
Elavon Reviews: A Genuinely Polarized Record
All figures below are as of September 2026, with sources listed at the bottom of this page.
On Trustpilot, Elavon's U.S. profile holds a 3.9/5 TrustScore across 659 reviews β but the average is misleading, because the distribution is a barbell:56% five-star and 42% one-star, with almost nothing in between. The five-star reviews consistently praise support staff as patient and knowledgeable on technical issues. The one-star reviews cluster around a different set of themes: reviewers report extended fund holds and reserves (some describing six months to over a year), billing surprises (one reviewer quoted 1.79% but reported an effective rate near 4%), unresponsive agents and ignored cancellation requests, and abrupt account terminations.
At the Better Business Bureau, the picture is two-sided in a different way. Elavon holds anA+ letter grade and has been BBB-accredited since 2009 β the letter grade reflects how a business handles complaints, and 143 complaints were closed in the last three years. But BBBcustomer reviews average 1/5 stars β across only 41 reviews, a thin base for a company processing billions of transactions, so read it as a small sample of unhappy voices rather than a verdict. Themes in those reviews echo Trustpilot's negative side: reviewers report sudden account closures, fund freezes and 90-day "risk review" holds, long hold times, and unexpected charges.
The fair takeaway: when Elavon works, merchants seem genuinely happy with the people. When it goes wrong, the reported failure modes β held funds and surprise billing β are the expensive kind. Whoever you process with, that's an argument for knowing exactly what your agreement says before you sign it.
Elavon vs. Payment USA
Different animals: Elavon is a bank-owned global processor; we're an independent processor built around pricing transparency. Here's the honest comparison, using only what each of us publishes.
| Elavon | Payment USA | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Published flat rates on qualified transactions; interchange-plus offered as an option | Interchange-plus exclusively β the card network cost and our markup shown separately on every statement |
| Rate transparency | Standard rates published; non-qualified pricing not published | Every line item visible β interchange-plus is the model where hiding fees is structurally impossible |
| Contracts | Contract length not published; $0 early termination fee stated on pricing page | No long-term contracts and no cancellation fees |
| Seeing your real costs | No published statement-review offer | Free statement analysis β we show you what you actually pay before you switch anything |
Want the wider field? Our processor comparison puts Payment USA next to Square, Stripe, Toast, and Clover on the same criteria β and the fastest way to compare against your current setup is a free statement analysis of what you're actually paying today.
Elavon Questions, Answered
What is Elavon?+
Elavon is a merchant services and payment processing company, wholly owned by U.S. Bank. It handles in-person, online, mobile, and mail/telephone-order payments, and by its own account processes more than nine billion transactions valued over $600 billion per year worldwide. Its main products are the Converge gateway, Elavon Point of Sale (formerly talech), and the Fusebox enterprise gateway.
What are Elavonβs credit card processing rates?+
As of September 3, 2026, Elavonβs pricing page lists 2.60% + 12Β’ per qualified swipe or chip transaction in person and 3.30% + 30Β’ per qualified online transaction, with $0 annual, batch, additional authorization, and early termination fees. Interchange-plus is offered as an option. What non-qualified transactions cost is not published β and Elavon has changed these rates over time, so always confirm current numbers on elavon.com.
Is Elavon a good payment processor?+
The honest answer is that experiences are polarized. On Trustpilot, Elavon holds 3.9/5 across 659 reviews β but that average hides a split of 56% five-star and 42% one-star reviews (as of September 2026). Happy reviewers praise support; unhappy ones report extended fund holds and billing surprises. It's a large, bank-backed processor with real products, and also one where reading your merchant agreement closely matters.
Who owns Elavon?+
Elavon is a wholly owned subsidiary of U.S. Bank, which Elavon describes as the fifth largest commercial bank in the United States. Its European operations employ about 1,000 people across seven countries, per Elavon.
Sources
Every Elavon claim on this page comes from one of the sources below, all observed on September 3, 2026. Payment USA claims come from our own published pages.
- https://www.elavon.com/company.htmlU.S. Bank ownership, scale claims, awards β observed 2026-09-03
- https://www.elavon.com/index.htmlPositioning, industries, products β observed 2026-09-03
- https://www.elavon.com/pricing.htmlPublished rates and $0-fee claims (re-verified day of writing) β observed 2026-09-03
- https://www.elavon.com/solutions/payment-gateways/converge.htmlConverge capabilities β observed 2026-09-03
- https://www.elavon.com/solutions/payment-optimization/surcharge-program.htmlSurcharge program terms β observed 2026-09-03
- https://www.trustpilot.com/review/elavon.comTrustpilot 3.9/5, 659 reviews, rating distribution, review themes β observed 2026-09-03
- https://www.bbb.org/us/tn/knoxville/profile/credit-card-merchant-services/elavon-0533-4468BBB A+ rating, accredited since 9/18/2009, 1/5 customer stars (41 reviews), 143 complaints closed in 3 years β observed 2026-09-03
Spot something outdated? Email us and we'll fix it.
Comparing Processors? Start With What You Pay Now.
Published rates only tell you so much β your statement tells you everything. Send us one recent statement and we'll break down every rate, markup, and fee on it for free, so any comparison you make starts from your real numbers.